For Veterans Delaware

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU CONTACT US:

DISCLAIMER

Homeless To Independence Inc. is an All-Volunteer, Faith-Based, 501©3 non-profit organization. We do NOT receive any grant funding what-so-ever to pay bills for anyone in any situation. We do not give away money. We do not give out loans against any money.

This ministry is supported with generous financial donations that are used to help keep us functioning. Our purpose is to help supply individuals and families with personal needs such as food, toiletries, clothing, household items, furniture and baby/adult diapers/wipes both locally and to areas effected by disasters . At this time, we do not offer any shelter or transitional housing services. Again, we DO NOT pay any bills. We DO NOT pay any rents or mortgages.

If you are actually homeless, or about to be homeless or need emergency assistance of any kind, DIAL “211″ from a land-line telephone. This will not work from a cell telephone. Tell the receiver your situation and what you need. They will give you information specific for the location you are currently in plus any referrals you may need. They have the most up to the minute information for your specific area. Dialing “211” will get you help and much more info than this office can provide. Homeless to Independence wants you to have all the information you need to get through the situation you are in.

Don’t have a land-line telephone??? Go to your local police department, library, or house of worship and ask to use their land-line telephone. They may even make the call on your behalf.

***

For those of you looking for employment through-out the United States, District of Columbia or Puerto Rico, simply send me an email to:

Ann@homelesstoindependence.org with:

1) the name of your State/Commonwealth, District of Columbia or Puerto Rico and
2) if you have a conviction and your record contains something more serious than a traffic conviction within the past 7-years. We do NOT need to know what the conviction was, we do not want to waste your time with opportunities you will not be qualified to apply for at this time.

***

Homeless To Independence Inc. is not responsible for misprints or cancellations of events by the event holders, landlord and/or their agent, or ourselves. Homeless to Independence Inc. also reserves the right to “NOT” offer services to people and/or persons that are rude, unpleasant, and untruthful in any way shape or form, belligerent and the like.

OCCASIONALLY, THERE WILL BE ARTICLES BY OTHER WRITERS. HOMELESS TO INDEPENDENCE MAY NOT NECESSARILY AGREE WITH THEIR VIEWPOINTS, BUT WE DO RESPECT THEM. THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION!

OFFICE CONTACT INFO:

THE VERY BEST WAY TO CONTACT ME IS TO SEND ME AN EMAIL: ANN@HOMELESSTOINDEPENDENCE.ORG

OFFICE NUMBER IS: 1-732-264-7500

Please note that our office does have very limited volunteer staff and if we are one telephone line we cannot answer the other line. There is simply not enough time in the day to answer and/or return each and every telephone call.

IF YOU ARE ASKING FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE, NO ONE WILL CONTACT YOU BACK.

THANK YOU!!!

********************************************

DELAWARE.GOV

o Focusing on Veterans: http://sos.delaware.gov/focus_veterans.shtml

o Delaware Commission on Veterans Affairs: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/

§ Points of Contact: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/contact.shtml

§ Find Your Veterans Services Officer: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/service_officers.shtml

o Veterans Services Directory: http://www.delaware.gov/vsd/

o Veterans Benefits Information: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/veterans_benefits.shtml

o Delaware Veterans Newsletter: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/newsletter.shtml

· HOUSING/HOMELESSNESS/BASIC NEEDS ASSISTANCE:

o DE Veterans Home: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/veterans_home.shtml

o HUD Delaware Information: http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/states/delaware/homeless

§ Talk to a housing counselor: http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/i_want_to/talk_to_a_housing_counselor

o HUD Delaware Points of Contact: http://www.hudhre.info/index.cfm?do=actionCocContactsSearch&st=DE&optTwo=%2Findex.cfm%3Fdo%3DviewCocContacts%26st%3DDE%26cSort%3DcocNum&optThree=

o National Health Care for the Homeless Council, Delaware Resources: http://www.nhchc.org/hchdirectory/de/

o National Coalition for Homeless Veterans, Delaware Resources: http://www.nchv.org/index.php/help/help-Delaware

o National Low Income Housing Coalition: http://nlihc.org/involvement/local/state/DE

o Homeless Shelter Directory (by city): http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org/delaware.html

o Operation Homefront PA/DE: http://www.operationhomefront.net/PaDe/

o Delaware Housing Coalition: http://www.housingforall.org/

o Catholic Charities, Inc.: http://www.cdow.org/

o Connections Community Support Programs: http://www.connectionscsp.org/

o Delaware Center for Homeless Veterans, Inc.: http://paulshouse.vpweb.com/

o Interfaith Community Housing of Delaware: http://www.ichde.org/

o Sojourner’s Place: http://sojournersplace.org/home.html

o Sunday Breakfast Mission: http://www.sundaybreakfastmission.org/

o Food Bank of Delaware: http://www.fbd.org/

o SNAP Application: http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/outreach/states/delaware.htm

o United Way of Delaware, Inc.: http://apps.unitedway.org/myuw/LUindex.cfm?ID=browseLocal&zip=09050&app=

o Low Income Energy/Utility Assistance: http://www.liheap.ncat.org/profiles/Delaware.htm

o Catholic Charities Low Income Energy Assistance Program: http://www.cdow.org/energy.html

o Home of the Brave, Milford DE: http://homeofthebravefdn.org/

o Disabled American Veterans in the First State: http://dav.inthefirststate.com/

o $tand by Me: http://standbymede.org/

o Free Tax Preparation Resources: http://ausade.org/2013/01/29/free-tax-preparation-resources-for-veterans/

· PHYSICAL/MENTAL HEALTH CARE:

o DE Veterans Home: http://veteransaffairs.delaware.gov/veterans_home.shtml

o Senior Helpers: http://www.seniorhelpers.com/hockessin

o Compassionate Care Hospice: http://cchnet.net/hospice/mid-atlantic/delaware/

o Delaware Hospice, Veterans Program: http://www.delawarehospice.org/programs-services/veterans/

o Wilmington VA Medical Center: http://www.wilmington.va.gov/

o Connections Community Support, Primary Health: http://www.connectionscsp.org/primary-health.php

o Connections Community Support, Behavioral Health: http://www.connectionscsp.org/behavioral-health.php

o Open Door, Behavioral Health: http://www.opendoor-holcomb.org/index.php

o Military & Family Life Consultant Program: https://www.delaware.gov/vsd/veteranProfile.php?aid=37

o Rockford Center, Behavioral Health: http://www.rockfordcenter.com/

o Dover Behavioral Health Center: http://www.doverbehavioral.com/

o Meadow Wood Behavioral Health System: http://www.meadowwoodhospital.com/

o Survivor Outreach Services, Behavioral Health: https://www.delaware.gov/vsd/veteranProfile.php?aid=51

o Contact Lifeline, Crisis Support: http://www.contactlifeline.org/

o Peoples Place: http://www.peoplesplace2.com/

o Christiana Counseling: http://www.christianacounseling.com/aboutus.html

o Mental Health Association in Delaware: http://www.mhainde.org/

o Home of the Brave, Milford DE: http://homeofthebravefdn.org/

o Disabled American Veterans in the First State: http://dav.inthefirststate.com/

· EMPLOYMENT:

o Delaware State Veterans Employment Services: http://det.delawareworks.com/veterans-services.php

o Goodwill of Delaware Career Development Services: http://www.goodwillde.org/Jobs_Training_Placement.asp

o National Guard Delaware Employment Assistance: http://www.delawarenationalguard.com/members/CEA/

· EDUCATION/TRAINING:

o Widener Law Veterans Resources: http://law.widener.edu/Admissions/VeteransResources.aspx

o University of Delaware Military & Veterans Resources: http://www.udel.edu/registrar/students/veterans.html

o Delaware Transitions to Teaching Partnership: http://www.dt3p.udel.edu/

o Delaware Community College Veterans Services: http://www.dccc.edu/student-success-and-life/academic-support/veterans-services

o Delaware Technical Community College Veterans Affairs: https://www.dtcc.edu/student-resources/learning-support/veterans-affairs

o Delaware Small Business and Technology Development Center: http://dsbtdc.org/

o Financial Literacy Institute: http://www.dfli.org/

· ORGANIZATIONS & NON-PROFITS:

o Delaware Veterans Coalition: http://delawareveteranscoalition.com/

o Paralyzed Veterans of America, Delaware: http://www.pva.org/site/c.ajIRK9NJLcJ2E/b.6463487/k.CBE0/Delaware.htm

o National Low Income Housing Coalition: http://nlihc.org/involvement/local/state/DE

o Operation Homefront PA/DE: http://www.operationhomefront.net/PaDe/

o Delaware Housing Coalition: http://www.housingforall.org/

o Catholic Charities, Inc.: http://www.cdow.org/

§ Low Income Energy Assistance Program: http://www.cdow.org/energy.html

o Connections Community Support Programs: http://www.connectionscsp.org/

o Delaware Center for Homeless Veterans, Inc.: http://paulshouse.vpweb.com/

o Interfaith Community Housing of Delaware: http://www.ichde.org/

o Sojourner’s Place: http://sojournersplace.org/home.html

o Sunday Breakfast Mission: http://www.sundaybreakfastmission.org/

o Food Bank of Delaware: http://www.fbd.org/

o SNAP Application: http://www.fns.usda.gov/snap/outreach/states/delaware.htm

o United Way of Delaware, Inc.: http://apps.unitedway.org/myuw/LUindex.cfm?ID=browseLocal&zip=09050&app=

o Delaware Veterans, Inc.: http://delvets.com/

o Contact Lifeline, Crisis Support: http://www.contactlifeline.org/

o Disabled American Veterans in the First State: http://dav.inthefirststate.com/

o Hunters Helping Veterans: http://www.huntershelpingsoldiers.org/

o Financial Literacy Institute: http://www.dfli.org/

o $tand by Me: http://standbymede.org/

· LEGAL ASSISTANCE:

o Delaware Attorney General: http://www.state.de.us/attgen/fraud/consumerprotection/consumerprotection.shtml

o Community Legal Aid Society, Inc.: http://www.declasi.org/

o Legal Services Corporation of Delaware, Inc.: http://www.lscd.com/

o Military Assistance Project: http://www.militaryassistanceproject.org/

· OTHER:

o Delaware Guidebook for Incarcerated Veterans: http://www.va.gov/HOMELESS/docs/Reentry/09_de.pdf

*************************************************************